UNIVERSITY OF NORTH BENGAL

List of Holidays for the year 2018 for the Non-Government Affiliated Colleges*

Particulars	No. of Day(s)	Day(s) of the week	Date(s)
New Year's Day	1	Monday	1 st January
Birthday of Swami Vivekananda	1	Friday	12 th January
Shree Panchami	1	Monday	22 nd January
Birthday of Netaji	1	Tuesday	23 rd January
Republic Day	1	Friday	26 th January
Shivaratri	1	Wednesday	14 th February
Dol Jatra	1	Thursday	1 st March
Holi	1	Friday	2 nd March
Good Friday	1	Friday	30 th March
Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar	1	Saturday	14 th April
Bengali New Year's Day	1	Sunday	15 th April
Buddha Purnima	1	Monday	30 th April
May Day	1	Tuesday	1 st May
Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore	1	Wednesday	9 th May
Id-Ul-Fitre	1	Saturday	16 th June
Bhanu Jayanti [#]	1	Friday	13 th July
Independence Day	1	Wednesday	15 th August
Id-Uz-Zoha	1	Wednesday	22 nd August
Janmastami	1	Monday	3 rd September
Muharram	1.	Friday	21 st September
Birthday of Gandhiji	1	Tuesday	2 nd October
Mahalaya	1	Monday	8 th October
Chhat Puja	1	Tuesday	13 th November
Birthday of Gurunanak	1	Friday	23 rd November
Fateha Duaz Daham	1	Wednesday	19 th December
Christmas Day	1	Tuesday	25 th December

SECTIONAL HOLIDAYS

1. Mahabir Jayanti (for Jains only)	1	Thursday	29 th March
2. Easter Saturday (for Christians only)	1	Saturday	31 st March
3. Baisakhi (for Sikhs only)	1	Saturday	14 th April
4. Sab-e-Barat (for Muslims only)	1	Wednesday	2 nd May
5. Hul Diwas (for Adibasi [Santal] only)	1	Saturday	30 th June
6. Karam Puja	1	To be notified later on	

For Vacation Staff (other than Hill Colleges)

Summer Recess*	45 days	Tuesday - Thursday	17 th April to 31 st May
Puja Vacation	28 days	Monday – Sunday	15 th October to 11 th November
Winter Recess	6 days	Wednesday – Monday	26 th December to 31 st December

Hill Colleges

Puja Holidays	10+2 days	Monday – Friday	15 th October to 26 th October
Dewali Holidays	7 days	Monday – Sunday	5 th November to 11 th November
Winter Vacation	61+10 days	Sunday – Sunday	16 th December, 2018 to 24 th February, 2019

* The List is provisional and subject to modifications as per Govt. Orders, if issued subsequently.

Only for Colleges within the Darjeeling District.

Summer recess for the Law Colleges: 1st June to 30th June.

Registrationing.)
University of North Bengal